Icelandic Poppy / Islandmohn

Yesterday was the warmest day of the year so far, the sun shone from a blue sky with only an occasional cloud, so I went to my favourite little park that has all sorts of amazing plants and of course lots of blossoms at this time of year. I expected many of the about 200 rose bushes to be in bloom, but they are mostly planted in a shady section and there won’t be many blossoms for the next week or so.
Beside the rose bushes I discovered these beauties that looked like they were wearing fancy summer clothes to me. I sent the photo to a dear friend, who is a biologist and avid gardener, she identified the species for me, their Latin name is Papaver nudicaule.

~~~~~~

Gestern war hier der bisher wärmste Tag des Jahres und die Sonne schien, nur gelegentlich von einem Wölkchen verdeckt. Deshalb war ich in dem kleinen Park, in dem so viele wunderschöne, faszinierende Pflanzen wachsen. Eigentlich hatte ich die ca. 200 Rosenbüsche in voller Blüte erwartet, aber ihre Beete sind schattig und in den nächsten ein bis zwei Wochen wird er dort nur wenige Blüten geben.
Neben den Rosenbeeten habe ich diese Schönheiten hier gefunden. Ich finde, sie sehen aus als würden sie Sommerkleider tragen. Eine liebe Freundin von mir, die sich mit Pflanzen hervorragend auskennt, hat die Art für mich bestimmt. Der lateinische Name lautet Papaver nudicaule.

5 thoughts on “Icelandic Poppy / Islandmohn

    • My pleasure.

      I think it is a challenge to devote an entire blog solely to flowers, you are doing very well. I like the clean look of the photos on your page.

    • Nice to see you here!

      I like your blog which, to my mind, describes an exotic place. (Isn’t Queens something from a sitcom?)

      I hope I can make others see my area from an inquiring, but non-tourist perspective – just like you do. Thank you for your inspiration.

Leave a Reply

