Common Chicory / Gemeine Wegwarte

The flower ratio of this blog has become rather high, this has never been my intention. Presently I spend a lot of time thinking, which tends to be unusually successful when the sun shines into my face and the wind blows through my hair. I like the riverbanks. There are several rivers in my area and I have often sat at a bank for a while letting ideas float towards and sorrows away from me. That’s when I discover plants and animals. The animals are too fast for me to chase with my camera. None of the cabbage butterflies had any patience with me today.

So I’ll simply make a wild plant series. My biology and gardener friend hasn’t had an opportunity to see central European vegetation herself, but she likes identifying species when she sees pictures, which has so far already added quite a bit to my education. I don’t intend to bore her and everyone else with clover, chamomile, daisies and other common weeds even I can identify. Of course, I may occasionally find horticultural plants and mistake them for wild ones.

Addition: the biologist already identified the flower.

~~~~~

Der Blümchenfaktor meines Blogs ist gerade sehr hoch, das ist nicht beabsichtigt. Es liegt daran, dass ich gerade viel nachdenke – und das geht bei Sonnenschein im Gesicht und mit Wind im Haar besonders gut. Ich mag die Flussufer. Hier in der Nähe gibt es mehrere Flüsse und ich habe schon oft, lang an den Ufern gesessen, Ideen heran und Sorgen fortspülen lassen. Dabei entdecke ich auch immer wieder Pflanzen und Tiere, wobei die Tiere für meine Fotojagd meist zu schnell sind. Keiner von den Kohlweißlingen hatte heute Geduld mit mir.

Ich werde deswegen einfach aus den Wildpflanzenfotos eine Reihe machen. Meine  Biologie- und Gärtnerfreundin hatte noch keine Gelegenheit mitteleuropäische Pflanzen in natürlicher Umgebung zu betrachten, aber sie bestimmt sehr gern Arten, wenn sie Fotos sieht. Das ist dann wieder gut für meine Allgemeinbildung. Ich beabsichtige nicht, sie und alle anderen mit Klee, Kamille, Gänseblümchen und anderem Grünzeug zu langweilen, das sogar ich identifizieren kann. Verwilderte Kulturpflanzen kann es natürlich geben.

Nachtrag: Die (mir) zunächst unbekannte Pflanze ist bereits identifiziert.

3 thoughts on “Common Chicory / Gemeine Wegwarte

Leave a Reply

