Learning by Doing

Yesterday I was out practising with my new camera. I was impressively unsuccessful taking good photos. I wasn’t so unsuccessful figuring out what the buttons on the camera are for.

My attempts to capture animals were basically disastrous, they were simply too fast for me. I continuously forgot to change settings when I focused on a different kind of motif. And I totally forgot to re-adjust the ISO setting after I had taken indoor pictures.

Well, here are some of the pictures I kept after generous purging.

~~~~~

Gestern war ich mit der Kamera zum Üben unterwegs. Toll, was man dabei alles verkehrt machen kann: ich hab ständig vergessen das Programm zu wechseln, wenn ich andere Motive aufgenommen habe. Und den ISO Wert, den ich für die Innenaufnahmen verwendet hatte, habe ich auch nicht wieder umgestellt. Mein Lernerfolg war also prima, die Ausbeute an guten Fotos eher bescheiden.

Vögel und Schmetterlinge sind mir regelmäßig weggeflogen. Dafür bin ich echt zu langsam.

Hier sind ein paar Bilder, die das Massenlöschen überstanden haben.

4 thoughts on “Learning by Doing

  1. I thoroughly believe in ‘learning by doing’ – by far the best way to absorb information, and enjoy what you’re learning. This is particularly important when it comes to photography.

    Also – I think you’re being far too hard on yourself! I really like your wasp image – the depth of field lends a bit of drama to the photo, and the composition works. A nice sunny image! Thanks for posting.

    • I’m happy with the hoverfly, because it comes out so clearly, even though there is little contrast between the translucent wings and the flower.

      Learning by doing is definitely my way of improving my photography skills.

      Thanks for your encouragement.

  2. Ich hab’ mich auch gewundert, dass mein Fotoapparat doch nicht alles allein macht, als ich die ersten Bilder mit ihm gemacht habe. Aber irgendwann kennt man das Ding und dann ist man auch zufrieden mit sich und der Welt, nicht immer, aber immer öfter 😉
    Bestimmt werden wir hier bald ganz tolle Fotos zu sehen kriegen und ganz neidisch sein, dass wir das nicht können. 😉
    LG 🙂

    • Ich wollt ja keinen Fotoapparat, der alles alleine macht – und nu hab ich den Salat. Bei dem Ding kann man wirklich alles verstellen. Überall Knöpfe und Rädchen und Menüs, echter Kulturschock, wenn man vorher mit sehr begrenzten Einstellungsmöglichkeiten rumgeknipst hat.

      Macht aber tierisch Spaß, denn es gehen plötzlich Dinge, die vorher nie funktioniert hätten.

Leave a Reply

