Homemade Pesto Genovese

I’m a little sad about this week’s Fresh Breeze, because my favourite plan didn’t work out at all. It is still there and I’ll do it some other week, but I had to come up with a replacement.

My diet has been rather boring lately and so I decided to try something new as far as food is concerned. I went shopping and came home with a large selection of delicious supplies – and ended up with too little time to prepare everything I had in mind for this week’s post.

BUT I proudly declare I have made my very first Pesto Genovese. I have always loved to eat it and why – until this week – I never made some myself is a mystery to me. It was a lot easier than I had anticipated and a lot faster too.

This was my first try, so the proportions of the ingredients aren’t quite right yet, the taste however is excellent. I mixed extra virgin olive oil, fresh basil, pine nuts, freshly grated parmesan, garlic and a little butter. I didn’t add salt, there was enough in the cheese already. I was a little worried about the results I might get with a blender instead of a mortar, but as you can see above, it worked out just fine.

I have a feeling I’ll not buy mass produced pesto again.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pesto Genovese

  1. Pesto has become popular in upscale grocery stores in Austin (Texas) in recent years, but was little-known here before then.

    You mentioned a mortar; the pestle that goes into the mortar to do the grinding is related to the pesto that comes out: both English pestle and Italian pesto are derived from a Latin word that meant ‘to pound.’

    • I can’t remember when and where I discovered pesto. But I recall ordering Spaghetti con Pesto in a nice, Italian restaurant many years ago. When I was about to sprinkle parmesan on the dish the waiter told me not to do it. He explained the pesto already contained cheese and nothing was supposed to be added. He correctly rated me young and ignorant. I suspect it was his mother’s recipe I was about to mess with which made him rather resolute.

      The homemade pesto in that restaurant was superb and I kept coming back for more.

Leave a Reply

