A Knight, but no Fortress / Ein Ritter, aber keine Burg

There is a fortress ruin on this slope. I know, because I have seen photos and maps where the location is marked. That’s why I went looking for it for the second time yesterday. I have been there a few weeks ago already, but couldn’t find the site. I was embarressed, because how can you overlook an complete fortress? My research revealed that the site is overgrown and the access is a bit hidden as well. I looked for it anyway.

~~~~~

In diesem Hang ist eine Burgruine verborgen. Ich weiß es, denn ich habe Fotos gesehen und Karten, auf denen die Ruine verzeichnet ist. Deswegen habe ich mich gestern zum zweiten Mal aufgemacht, sie zu finden. Ich war vor einigen Wochen schon mal dort und hatte keinen Erfolg. Das war mir ziemlich peinlich, denn wie kann man eine ganze Burgruine übersehen! Meine Nachforschungen ergaben, dass sie ziemlich eingewachsen und auch der Zugang zum Gelände nicht leicht zu finden ist. Ich habe ihn trotzdem gesucht.

I don’t know how many paths fit into such a small forest, but many! I roamed the area for about three hours yesterday an saw a lot, but no fortress ruin.

Eventually, right there in the middle of the woods, I gave up. The sun was setting and I was getting tired. By the time I exited the forest I was also busy swatting gnats on my arms.

~~~~~

Ich weiß nicht, wie viele Wege sich in so ein kleines Waldstück passen, aber ziemlich viele, denn ich bin gestern ungefähr drei Stunden dort herumgelaufen und habe allerlei gesehen – aber keine Burgruine!

Dort, mitten im Wald, habe ich schließlich aufgegeben. Die Sonne sank, meine Kräfte schwanden und als ich aus dem Wald herauskam, war ich eifrig damit beschäftigt die Mücken auf meinen Armen zu erschlagen.

Of course there were also neat, marked trails, but isn’t that knight shrugging? He also looks a bit scared to me with those big, round eyes. He did lead me safely out of the forest again, but he didn’t show me the fortress ruin. I guess a few of the marked trees didn’t make it through the storms since the trail was tagged.

I suspect the ruin isn’t a something impressive after all and it wasn’t my poor orientation or lack of persistence why I overlooked it. Maybe, one day someone familiar with the area will show me. Until then, there are other places to be seen.

~~~~~

Natürlich gabe es im Wald ordentliche, markierte Wege, aber mal ehrlich, der Ritter hier zuckt doch mit den Schultern? Wirkt auch etwas verschreckt mit den großen Kulleraugen. Er hat mich zwar sicher wieder aus dem Wald heraus geführt, aber wo denn nun die Ruine ist, hat er mir nicht gezeigt. Da ist wohl seit der Beschilderung des Wegs der eine oder andere markierte Baum einem Sturm zum Opfer gefallen.

Ich gehe mal davon aus, das die Burgruine nichts ist, was man unbedingt gesehen haben muss und es weder an meinem schlechten Orientierungssinn noch an mangelnder Hartnäckigkeit lag, dass ich sie nicht gefunden habe. Wer weiß, vielleicht zeigt sie mir irgendwann ein Ortskundiger. Bis dahin, gibt es anderes zu entdecken.

3 thoughts on “A Knight, but no Fortress / Ein Ritter, aber keine Burg

  1. In England, fortresses were usually built on the top of hills so that they had a good view in every direction. Possibly the same for this one?
    I like the shrugging knight – very humorous!

    • Some fortresses are on top of hills, others are not. This one is not, I know, because one description mentionend the narrow ravines in the slope that protects the terrain and I saw some yesterday. They can’t be seen unless you are standing right there, but they are definitely too wide to jump across. I guess over time the terrain itself has changed with modern siviculture and its machines.

      The region has a lot of smaller fortresses that basically used to be well protected family homes (and accomodated staff as well), not so much military facilities. I guess there had to be compromises between safety and access to water, food and roads.

  2. Pingback: Self Portraits / Selbstportraits | Bilingual Gallery

Leave a Reply

