Mango chutney and ???

I felt it was time for another culinary experiment the other day, so I bought my first jar of mango chutney. I had meant to try it for a while, because my friend talked about it. I was also sure I had tried some chutney at some Indian restaurant before, but couldn’t remember any details.

So I bought the jar, brought it home, dipped the spoon in and tried. Good. Mild. By Indian standards. And reached for the water bottle. I tried to remember what my friend said you could eat with chutney, but couldn’t. I recalled it would work with the pappadums I hadn’t bought because my bag was already full.

But when in need of advice, check online. Predictably I found a lot of interesting suggestions on my favourite cooking website – many of them had to do with dead animals, but I didn’t feel like eating anything that used to walk or swim. Then someone said it would go well with cheese. Splendid!

I am forever searching for lunches that are easy and fast to make, so I felt a fried camembert, something green and the chutney would be worth a try. It was an experiment and did not quite go as planned. The pre-baked camembert’s crust was a bit too thick and started to burn well before the core even started to thaw, let alone melt. (I’ll try another brand next time.) The cucumber worked surprisingly well with the spicy sauce. All in all, a nice, quick lunch.

Finally I also took pictures of my new composition, which, as you can see didn’t turn out too great. Note to self: Don’t take pictures of food when you are ravenously hungry.

~~~~~

Es wurde mal wieder Zeit für ein kleines kulinarisches Experiment, also habe ich mir neulich mein erstes Glas Mangochutney gekauft. Das wollte ich schon länger mal machen, weil meine Freundin immer davon redete. Ich war mir auch sicher, schon mal irgendwann bei einem Inder irgendein Chutney gegessen zu haben, aber so recht erinnern konnte ich mich nicht.

Also kaufte ich ein Glas, brachte es nach Hause, tauchte den Löffel ein und probierte. Lecker. Mild. Für indische Verhältnisse. Und griff nach der Wasserflasche. Ich versuchte mich daran zu erinnern, was meine Freundin zum Chutney empfohlen hat, aber vergeblich. Mir fiel nur noch ein, dass es zu den Pappadums gepasst hätte, die ich nicht gekauft hatte, weil meine Tasche schon voll war.

Aber wenn man eine Idee braucht, kann man ja mal im Netz gucken. Auf meiner Lieblingskochseite fand ich dann auch jede Menge Vorschläge, die meisten hatten irgendwas mit toten Viechern zu tun. Ich wollte aber nichts essen, dass mal herumgelaufen oder -geschwommen ist. Dann las ich, dass man auch Käse dazu essen könne. Prima!

Ich such ja immer nach Mittagessen die schnell und einfach gemacht sind, ein gebackener Camembert mit Grünzeug und Chutney schien mir einen Versuch wert. Es war ein Experiment und so ganz hat es nicht geklappt. Der tiefgefrorene Camenbert hatte so eine dicke, harte Kruste und die brannte schon an, bevor der Kern überhaupt getaut, geschweige denn geschmolzen war. (Nächstes Mal probiere ich es mit einer anderen Marke.) Die Gurke hat prima zu scharfen Sauce gepasst. Insgesamt ein nettes, schnelles Essen.

Am Ende habe ich dann auch noch Fotos gemacht, die, wie man sieht nicht wirklich schön geworden sind. Hungrig Essen fotografieren ist einfach keine gute Idee.

Leave a Reply

