Buzzing Bush / Summender Busch

I have seen a few Red Admirals this summer, but never managed to take a decent picture of one of them until Sunday, when I found The Buzzing Bush, just a very short walk from my home. All the insects from the neighbourhood were feasting there. I stood among bees, hoverflies and wasps when I took the photos and I made sure, I moved carefully. The insects didn’t seem to mind me a lot as long as they could get to their food. Click to enlarge any of the photos.

~~~~~

Ich habe in diesem Sommer schon einige Admiralschmetterlinge gesehen, aber mir war es bis Sonntag nicht gelungen, einen von ihnen zu fotografieren. Dann fand ich den summenden Busch in der Nachbarschaft. Alle Insekten der Gegend haben sich dort vollgefressen. Als ich die Fotos gemacht habe stand ich zwischen Bienen, Schwebfliegen und Wespen und hab mich nur ganz vorsichtig bewegt. Aber den Viechern war ich egal, so lange ich ihrer Mahlzeit nicht im Weg stand. Zum Vergrößern auf die Bilder klicken.


The butterfly at the top is a pretty common Peacock Butterfly, the one further right is a Red Admiral Butterfly. As you can see they are rather similar in shape and colour at first sight, but I have figured out, you can really distinguish them when they fly by. The Peacock Butterfly flutters continuously while the Red Admiral keeps gliding.

~~~~~

Oben ist ein Tagpfauenauge, rechts ist ein Admiral. Wie man sieht unterscheiden sie sich auf den ersten Blick kaum in Farbe und Größe, aber ich weiß inzwischen, wie man sie beim Vorbeifliegen auseinander halten kann: das Pfauenauge flattert unablässig, während der Admiral längere Strecken gleitet wie ein Segelflieger.


Partially hidden, but I like the light on the wing.

~~~~~

Halb versteckt, aber tolles Licht auf dem Flügel.

Sorry, those feet are ugly.

~~~~~

Tschuldigung, aber die Beine sind hässlich.

Spread wings.

~~~~~

Ausgebreitete Flügel.


Lucky me, awesome light on this butterfly.

~~~~~

Glück gehabt, der präsentiert sich in perfektem Licht.

22 thoughts on “Buzzing Bush / Summender Busch

    • Oh ja! Ich grübel schon den ganzen Tag, wo ich die schöne Herbstbilder machen könnte. Ich habe da so eine Idee … Mal gucken ob’s klappt, wie ich mir das vorstelle.

    • Taking pictures of insects is easier than you might think – unless you try to capture them flying. 🙂 See which plants the insects feed on, find a good perspective and wait. You might want to start of with somewhat slow flying, patient insects. Bumblebees are good beginner motifs.

    • Thank you!

      The bilingual articles work well when I mainly comment on photos. If I explain more, I feel it becomes a little confusing. I’m not worried about the German reader, they are used to English texts and will scroll over them quickly. But I wonder what German looks like to those who rarely see it.

  1. Oh, toll! Schmetterlinge zu fotografieren, ist nicht einfach. Ein Bekannter von mir geht früh am Morgen “auf Jagd”. Er sagt, da sind die Flattermänner noch nachtsteif und breiten die Flügel aus, um sich zu wärmen… (Ich bin aber kein Frühaufsteher, leider…)

  2. Pingback: Self Portraits / Selbstportraits | Bilingual Gallery

Leave a Reply

