Taste Bud Test / Geschmackstest

My latest Fresh Breeze was inspired by a conversation about sense of taste and diversity of chocolate with some friends. I was curious, if I could actually taste the differences between similar chocolates and describe them on top of it.

That’s why I walked into the next large market, equipped with newly acquired information, and bought a small selection of chocolate bars I had never tried before. I picked bars with a medium content of cocoa solids and no other types of fat than cocoa butter. Unfortunately there were no chocolate bars matching my criteria that specified the variety of cocoa used in that shop.

~~~~~

Mein Alltagsabentuer für diese Woche entstand aus einem Gespräch mit Freunden über den Geschmackssinn und die Vielfalt von Schokolade. Ich wollte dann ganz genau wissen, ob ich in der Lage bin Unterschiede zwischen ähnlichen Schokoladen herauszuschmecken und das auch noch zu beschreiben.

Also habe ich mich, mit dem im Gespräch neu erworbenen Wissen gewappnet, in den nächsten größeren Supermarkt begeben und eine kleine Auswahl an mir bisher unbekannten Schokoladensorten für meinen Test eingekauft.

Auswahlkriterien waren ein Kakaoanteil im mittleren Bereich und keine Fremdfette (nur Kakaobutter). Leider habe ich keine Schokolade gefunden, bei der die Kakaosorte angegeben war.

After a lot of sniffing and tasting, I can now tell you, that I can make out differences between the chocolates. You’ll decide, if I can describe them as well.

All chocolates were neither sweet nor bitter.

Hachez (55,5% Cocoa de Maracaibo, genuine vanilla) und Lindt (70% cocoa, genuine vanilla) were quite similar. As I expected the Hachez is sweeter and has a less intensive scent. The cocoa flavour of both is very similar: intensive and balanced without any peculiarity. Lindt melts faster and gentler than the somewhat harder Hachez. Both leave a  dusty cocoa powder feeling in the mouth.

The other two chocolate bars were more interesting. Rausch (47% cocoa, cane sugar, no vanilla) has the perfect mild sweetness, it reduces the intensity of the cocoa flavour, but that’s ok with me. The chocolate melts easily and creamily, just the way I like it. But it has an acerb aftertaste so it is a little unbalanced overall.

Gepa (60% cocoa, artificial vanilla) had the best cocoa flavour. It was significantly different from the other samples, more diverse and fruity, reminding me of freshly grinded coffee. The chocolate has a decidedly more intensive scent than the others and I found it a little too firm.

~~~~~

Nach viel Schnuppern und Probieren, kann ich sagen, dass ich die Unterschiede zwischen den Schokoladen sehr wohl schmecken kann. Ob es mit dem Beschreiben dann auch noch klappt, dürft ihr selber beurteilen.

Alle Schokoladen waren weder süß noch bitter.

Hachez (Cocoa de Maracaibo 55,5%, mit echter Vanille) und Lindt (Excellence 70%, mit echter Vanille) fand ich sehr ähnlich. Wie zu erwarten war, ist die Hachez süßer und riecht schwächer. Der Kakaogeschmack ist bei beiden sehr ähnlich: intensiv und ausgewogen, ohne Besonderheiten. Lindt schmilzt im Mund zarter und schneller als die etwas härtere Hachez. Beide hinterlassen eine Art Kakaopulvergefühl, etwas trocken und krümelig.

Die beiden anderen Sorten fand ich interessanter. Rausch (Edel-Vollmilch 47% mit Rohrzucker, ohne Vanille) hat für meinen Geschmack die perfekte, leichte Süße. Das geht etwas zu Lasten des Kakaoaromas, für mich ist das in Ordnung. Sie schmilzt so leicht und cremig, wie ich es mag. Allerdings hat sie einen herben Nachgeschmack, sodass ich sie insgesamt etwas unausgewogen finde.

Gepa (Zartbitter mild 60%, Vanilleextrakt) hat den besten Kakaogeschmack. Er unterscheidet sich sehr deutlich von den anderen Schokoladen, vielschichtiger, fruchtiger und erinnert ein wenig an frischen Kaffee. Die Schokolade riecht intensiver als die anderen. Die Konsistenz ist mir ein wenig zu hart.

I learned that I like milk chocolate better than dark chocolate. As far as I am concerned the perfect cocoa flavour has a hint of sweetness and milkiness.

Apparently the selection of the cocoa is more important than I had realized before. I thought Lindt and Hachez were simply boring when it came to that. I am sure I could get other chocolates of other manufacturers that tasted just like those.

The chocolate of my dreams is not among those four. I think, I’ll have to keep looking and trying a little longer …

~~~~~

Ich bin um die Erkenntnis reicher, dass ich Milchschokolade lieber mag als dunkle. Für mich hat Schokolade einen Hauch von Süße und Milchigkeit.

Die Kakaoauswahl ist offensichtlich wichtiger als vermutet. Ich fand Lindt und Hachez in dem Punkt schlicht langweilig. Ich bin sicher, ich könnte noch einige andere Sorten anderer Marken auftreiben, die diesen beiden zum Verwechseln ähnlich schmecken.

Meine Idealschokolade war unter diesen Vieren nicht zu finden. Da werde ich noch ein wenig weiter suchen und probieren müssen …

17 thoughts on “Taste Bud Test / Geschmackstest

  1. I like the idea of your experiment! It looks like a good excuse to eat lots of chocolate…I may give it a try myself. I much prefer milk chocolate….I’m a total chocaholic!

    • I think I eat less chocolate, when I really pay attention to the taste. I tend to shovel chocolate in rather mindlessly when I am stressed.
      If you want to find chocolate that’s really different, go to a shop that specializes in chocolate. Even in a large supermarket the choice isn’t that good and if you get anything interesting is pure chance.

  2. The word chocolate comes from Aztec, where the original meant ‘bitter water’. That’s because the Aztecs took their chocolate as a drink, which we do too, but they didn’t sweeten theirs or add milk (they had no cows). Like you, I’m happy that Europeans went on to invent milk chocolate. Coincidentally, the vanilla that now often gets added is also native to Mexico.

    • I knew the Aztecs drank cocoa with water, but I never realized it was because they had no cows. Nowadays it is hard to imagine any place in America without cows, just like I can’t imagine Europe without chocolate (or tomatoes or potatoes).

      • Yes, it was the European settlers who brought cows (and horses and pigs) to the New World. The New World returned the favor by giving chocolate, vanilla, tomatoes, potatoes, corn (maize), etc., to the Old World. Julius Caesar never ate a pizza.

  3. Noch ein paar Tipps von mir, zum probieren:

    Cluizel: Maralumi oder mangaro Lait oder die 45% Lait
    Coppeneur: Menavava 52% mit cocoa nibs u.a. (Plantation Madagaskar klingt gut, ich mag den Kakao aus Madagaskar sehr)

    Allerdings werden dir die Schokoladen vermutlich auch eher etwas härter vorkommen.

    Dolfin wird wahrscheinlich eher deine Kragenweite sein, ich glaube aber, dass die Vollmilchschokoladen einen nicht so hohen Kakaoanteil haben und daher nicht unbedingt zum Kakao herausschmecken gut geeignet. Auch Berger fällt in eine ähnliche Kategorie wie Dolfin.

    • Nach einigen weiteren Schokostückchen denke ich, für mich liegt das Ideal zwischen Vollmilch und Zartbitter. Ein niedriger Kakaoanteil ist langweilg, da ist die Schokolade einfach nur süß. Ein zu hoher Kakaoanteil ist auch nichts, weil gar nicht süß. Ich werde noch ein wenig weiter testen. 🙂

  4. Interesting taste test! Made me head for the cupboard to get a piece of chocolate – my favourite is Lindt Excellence Dark 70% cacao. I am a dark chocolate person.

    • If you like dark chocolate, it is really worth trying chocolates with different types of cocoa, but you’ll probably have to go to a specialized store to get those. Lindt doesn’t put the type of cocoa on the label.

      During my research I also read that especially dark chocolate is best kept in the fridge. There was an explanation, but I can’t remember it.

      • I wouldn’t keep chocolate in the fridge. It should be kept in a dark place, either glass or metal pot where nothing else was stored in (chocolate takes on other tastes and scents easily) with constant temperatur (lower than 20 centigrad) and humidity (low). Temperature change is not good for chocolade, it can lead to grayish color which would be the cocoa butter seperating from the rest. You can still eat it, though.

      • Good to know. I think, I lack ideal chocolate storage place. Well, I don’t usually store chocolate for an extended period of time, if you discount carrying it around on my hips, that is.

  5. Pingback: Chocoholism | Bilingual Gallery

Leave a Reply

