Spicy Eggplant / Würzige Aubergine

It’s getting cold outside and the season for extended outdoor activities is over until spring. That’s why this week’s Fresh Breeze expedition took place in my kitchen: a new way to prepare eggplant with a still unknown-to-me spice paste.

I tried to find recipes online, but apparently the Tikka Curry Paste I had bought is almost exclusively used with chicken, other than that I couldn’t find much.

That’s why I resorted to my original plan. Instead of sprinkling eggplant slices with olive oil, like I usually do, I spread a blend of Tikka Paste and sunflower oil on them.

~~~~~

Es ist kalt geworden und die Zeit der langen Ausflüge ist bis zum nächsten Frühjahr vorbei. Deswegen fand der Ausflug ins Unbekannte diese Woche in meiner Küche statt: eine neue Zubereitung für Auberginen, mit einer mir bis dahin unbekannten Gewürzpaste.

Natürlich habe ich zunächst nach Rezepten geforscht, aber die Tikka Curry Paste, die ich gekauft hatte, wird von den allermeisten Menschen zur Zubereitung von Hähnchen verwendet, ansonsten war nicht viel zu finden.

Deswegen habe ich auf meinen ursprünglichen Plan zurückgegriffen und Auberginen-scheiben, statt wie sonst mit Olivenöl zu beträufeln, mit einer Mischung aus Gewürzpaste und Sonnenblumenöl bestrichen.

I was careful not to use too much paste, because I wasn’t sure how hot the food would turn out, I also just spread spices on one side of each eggplant slice.

Then I baked the eggplant in the oven and cooked some jasmine rice to go with it.

~~~~~

Mit der Menge war ich etwas vorsichtig, denn ich wußte nicht, wie scharf das Ergebnis am Ende wird, ich habe auch nur eine Seite der Auberginenscheibe bestrichen.

Danach habe ich die Auberginenscheiben im Ofen gebacken und Duftreis dazu gekocht.

After I tried the food I realized it was a good idea, but poorly executed. The paste isn’t salted and I hadn’t added any salt before cooking. Adding some salt after cooking yielded no satisfactory results. Combining the eggplant solely with rice is boring, I should have had some raita to go with it. Jasmine rice wasn’t such a good idea either, the fine scent doesn’t come out well with all the other spices. A white, slightly sticky rice would have been good – or bread, maybe naan.

I liked the paste itself a lot, it also made a nice crust on the eggplant. It would have been better to blend the paste with more oil and spread the mix evenly on both sides of the eggplant slices, to get a more balanced taste. A tea spoon of spice paste spread on the small eggplant was a good amount for me, but everyone has to try that, because the pastes differ and so do preferences.

Before I bake another eggplant with this spice mix again, I’ll try potato wedges with raita. If that works out all right, it’ll be a fast, simple and delicious meal. I’ll report …

~~~~~

Probieren ergab: gute Idee mit mangelhafter Ausführung. Die Gewürzpaste ist ungesalzen und ich hatte kein Salz dazugemischt, nachsalzen schmeckt einfach nicht genauso gut. Nur Reis zu den Auberginenscheiben ist langweilig, Raita wäre eine gute Ergänzung gewesen, außerdem ist Duftreis dazu keine besonders gute Wahl, das feine Aroma geht neben der Gewürzen unter. Ein weißer, leicht klebriger Reis wäre gut gewesen – oder Brot, z.B. Naan.

Die Paste selbst hat mir sehr gut geschmeckt und sie bildet auf der Aubergine eine schöne Kruste. Es wäre gut gewesen, die Paste mit mehr Öl zu mischen und dann auf beiden Seiten der Scheiben zu verteilen, damit man ein gleichmäßigeres Geschmacks-erlebnis bekommt. Für mich war ein guter TL dieser Gewürzpaste verteilt auf eine kleine Aubergine eine vernünftige Menge, aber da muss jeder selber probieren, weil sich die Pasten und Vorlieben deutlich unterscheiden.

Bevor ich die nächste Aubergine ähnlich zubereite, werde ich es erst mit Kartoffelecken probieren, dazu gibt es dann Johgurtsauce. Wenn das halbwegs klappt, wird es ein schnelles, einfaches, leckeres Essen. Ich werde berichten …

4 thoughts on “Spicy Eggplant / Würzige Aubergine

  1. That looks like an interesting recipe – I cooked aubergine for the first time last week and am going to try experimenting with it a bit more 🙂

    • Fall and winter are beautiful here too, light and colours change. I will go out all year, but with lower temps and less daylight, the trips must be shorter, no 5-6 hour hikes through unfamiliar territory.

      There will be some very dim and moist days when people hate to go out, but a clear January day with snow and ice is pretty. But there won’t be any wild flowers.

Leave a Reply

