Persian Speedwell / Persischer Ehrenpreis

Don’t let the photo fool you, these blossoms are tiny, maybe 1 centimetre or 1/2 inch in diameter. They are among the first wild flowers that bloom in my neihghbourhood and I mainly took pictures of them, so I could see the details of the blossoms and ask a biologist what kind of flowers they are.

Lasst euch nicht täuschen, die Blüten sind winzig, vielleicht 1cm im Durchmesser. Sie gehören zu den ersten Wildblumen, die ich in diesem Frühling gefunden habe und ich habe sie hauptsächlich fotografiert, weil ich mir die Blüten mal genauer anschauen und eine Biologin nach den Namen des Blümchens fragen wollte.

10 thoughts on “Persian Speedwell / Persischer Ehrenpreis

  1. Ich hätte es Dir gerne gesagt, ich hab das als Kind schon gewusst 😉
    Bei Deiner Überschrift, ohne das Blümchen zu sehen, hab ich allerdings gedacht, Du hast irgendeine iranische Ehrenmedaille gewonnen 😆

    • I think it’s strange that Persian Speedwell blooms earlier than the others, but wikipedia says it’s from the Caucausus, so it is probably a very resilient plant. I am impressed it can put up with the heat and dryness of Texas as well. I found a native speedwell that looks almost identical yesterday. The post with a photo is on the way.

  2. Pingback: Gamander Speedwell / Gamander Ehrenpreis | Bilingual Gallery

    • I don’t even have a macro lens. This photo was taken with the little lens that came with the camera. The camera has one of those turnable monitors, so I can hold it very close an object I want to take pictures of and look at the monitor while I make adjustments. My face does not have to be near the ground and my hands can keep a safe distance from the stinging nettles.

Leave a Reply

