Gamander Speedwell / Gamander Ehrenpreis

Do you think you have seen these here before? Well, almost. Last week I posted a photo of a very similar blossom and since I wasn’t sure, if I had indentified it correctly I tried to find the other species that looked very similar. On a large computer monitor the differences between Gamander Speedwell and Persian Speedwell are easy to see. There is a hint of a white rim around the petals of the Germander Speedwell, but the bottom petal has the same shade of blue as the others while the Persian Speedwell has a paler bottom petal. That’s noticable without a magnifying glass. I could only see the differences of the stamens when I looked at the photos.

Kommt euch das Blümchen bekannt vor? In der letzten Woch hatte ich ein Foto von einer sehr ähnlichen Blüte gepostet und weil ich mir nicht ganz sicher war, sie richtig identifiziert zu haben, habe ich nochmal nach der anderen Variante gesucht. Auf einem großen Computermonitor sieht man die Unterschiede zwischen Gamander Ehrenpreis und Persischem Ehrenpreis sehr deutlich. Der Gamander Ehrenpreis hat die Andeutung eines weißen Rands an den Blütenblättern, aber alle Blütenblätter haben die gleiche Farbe, während das mittlere Blatt des Persischen Ehrenpreises blasser ist als die anderen. Das kann man mit auch ohne Lupe noch erkennen. Die Unterschiede bei den Staubgefäßen habe ich erst nach dem Fotografieren gesehen.

6 thoughts on “Gamander Speedwell / Gamander Ehrenpreis

  1. Gefällt mir sehr – wie der andere auch. Alleine das schöne Blau, das man im Garten und Natur ja nicht so oft hat… Ich muss mal gucken, was meiner für ‘ne Sorte ist…

    • Too hot for flowers??? Oh my goodness, that must mean it is too hot for people too – at least those who live north of 45th parallel. 😀
      Presently there are flowers wherever I look. It’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

