Fiction Fun / Schreibspaß

The other day two of my friends discussed their participation in NaNoWriMo, they are both experienced fiction writers, one of them has participated in previous NaNoWriMos.  Since I haven’t done anything special for a while and I liked the concept, I decided to give it a try.

I quickly came up with an idea for a short novel and wrote down notes on characters and the plot. I did a little reasearch, gathered ideas for scenes and looked forward to November 1.

I started writing at midnight and finished my first scene before I went to bed. I continued to write in the morning and in the afternoon I had my first argument with my main character. On Friday I realized how much the mood of my main character affected me. On Saturday I realized the story was too realistic, i.e. boring.

Today I had to make a decision. I could either change my plans for the story or stop participating in NaNoWriMo to focus on other projects again. Slightly sad I decided to quit. I enjoyed writing a lot and had made good progress, but I was ill prepared for a project that size. I didn’t think too much about the story during the past few days of October when the idea came up. A full freezer and pantry would also have been very useful.

The voice of reason also remarked it would be better for me to use my time and creativity on other projects right now, because in contrast to the written novel, they will make my life better.

NaNo and writing ficition is a great thing. I recommend to check it out, maybe give it a try. I have given up this year, but I think that I’ll spend one future November writing.

Nachdem ich nun längere Zeit nichts Besonderes mehr unternommen habe, brachten mich zwei Freundinnen auf die Idee am NaNoWriMo teilzunehmen. Beide beschäftigen sich schon länger und ernsthaft mit dem Schreiben. Mir gefiel das Konzept und ich wollte es einfach mal ausprobieren.

Ziemlich schnell hatte ich eine Idee für eine längere Erzählung,  machte mir Notizen für Charaktere und Handlungverlauf. Ich recherchierte, entwarf einzelne Szenen und freute mich auf den 1. November.

Pünktlich um Mitternacht fing ich an zu schreiben und hatte in kurzer Zeit meine erste Szene fertig. Am Vormittag schrieb ich weiter und am Nachmittag hatte ich den ersten Krach mit meiner Heldin. Am Freitag wurde mir klar, wie sehr sich die Stimmungen meiner Heldin bei Schreiben auf mich auswirkten. Am Samstag erkannte ich, dass meine Geschichte viel zu langweilig war und nur noch dahinplätscherte.

Heute musste ich eine Entscheidung treffen. Entweder ich plane die Geschichte um und schreibe weiter oder ich höre auf und widme mich wieder anderen Dingen. Ein wenig traurig habe ich mich für Letzteres entschieden. Das Schreiben hat mir viel Spaß gemacht und ging gut voran, aber ich war für einen Schreibmarathon der Größe des NaNoWriMo nicht ausreichend vorbereitet. Ich hatte mir über die Geschichte in den letzten Oktobertagen, als die Idee der Teilnahme entstand, nicht genug Gedanken machen können. Auch ein volles Gefrierfach nebst voller Vorratskammer wäre sehr hilfreich gewesen.

Die Stimme der Vernunft merkte auch an, dass es für mich besser wäre meine Zeit und Kreativität jetzt erstmal in andere Projekte zu investieren, weil diese – anders als eine aufgeschriebene Geschichte – mein Leben verbessern werden.

NaNo und Geschichten schreiben ist eine tolle Sache, ich kann euch nur empfehlen, es mal anzuschauen, vielleicht mal mitzumachen. Für dieses Jahr lasse ich es sein, aber ich denke, dass ich einen November in der Zukunkft dem totalen Schreibwahnsinn widmen werde.

4 thoughts on “Fiction Fun / Schreibspaß

  1. Toll, dass Du Dir das überhaupt zugetraut hast. Ich schreibe eher nicht so gern unter Druck. Ich muss dafür locker und frei sein. Unter Druck bin ich eher eingegrenzt. Ich bewundere alle, die dabei mitmachen. Ist sicher eine tolle Sache.
    Liebe Grüße von der Silberdistel

    • In den letzten Tagen habe ich erkannt, dass ein bisschen Schreibstress für mich ganz nützlich ist, aber zu viel darf es dann auch nicht sein. Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, dass mir ein NaNo Spaß macht, wenn ich vernünftig vorbereitet bin. Dafür muss ich nicht unbedingt die Geschichte fertig im Kopf habe, sondern einfach genug Zeit und Energie.

  2. I can relate to what you’re saying as I also began last year at the last minute and stopped within a few days!

    I am participating this year, but am not novel writing, rather writing an autobiographical travelogue of our travels so far, but as we’re going to be travelling for quite some time yet, I won’t be finishing a first draft. So really I’m using NaNoWriMo as a motivational tool to get a lot of writing done towards a larger project.

    But, if you think you might like to do it again another year, then checking out Larry Brook’s ‘Story Engineering’ is a good idea. Essentially spend the month of October planning your novel and the month of November writing the first draft.

    Good luck with your other creative projects!

    • I think NaNoWriMo is a great concept, if you really want to write some sort of long text.

      I am not sure, if planning a novel would work well for me. I quickly realized that my characters have a tendency to become alive and do what they please. 🙂 But preparing for NaNo is important. It may simply mean to reduce other obligations well in advance and having adequate preparation for the writing project, such as researching facts.

      I hope you enjoy NaNo and will be happy with the result of your work. Have a great time traveling!

Leave a Reply

